How Many Districts in Kerala?

Introduction | How Many Districts in Kerala?

How Many Districts in Kerala? | Kerala, often referred to as “God’s Own Country,” is known for its picturesque landscapes, serene backwaters, and rich cultural heritage. As a curious individual, you might be eager to know about the administrative divisions that govern this beautiful state. In this article, we will explore the number of districts in Kerala and understand the significance of these administrative units.

Total Number of Districts in Kerala

As of now, Kerala is divided into a total of 14 districts, each contributing uniquely to the state’s growth and development.

List of Districts in Kerala

  1. Alappuzha
  2. Ernakulam
  3. Idukki
  4. Kannur
  5. Kasaragod
  6. Kollam
  7. Kottayam
  8. Kozhikode
  9. Malappuram
  10. Palakkad
  11. Pathanamthitta
  12. Thiruvananthapuram
  13. Thrissur
  14. Wayanad

Notable Districts of Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram – The Capital City

Thiruvananthapuram, the capital city of Kerala, is known for its royal heritage, historic monuments, and serene beaches. The iconic Padmanabhaswamy Temple is a major religious and architectural marvel in the city.

Kochi – The Commercial Hub

Kochi, also known as Cochin, is a bustling commercial hub and one of the major port cities in India. It is renowned for its cosmopolitan culture, ancient Chinese fishing nets, and historical landmarks like Fort Kochi.

Kozhikode – The City of Spices

Kozhikode, also called Calicut, is known for its historical significance as a major trading port for spices in ancient times. It is famous for its warm hospitality, aromatic spices, and pristine beaches.


The districts of Kerala form the backbone of its administrative structure, contributing significantly to the state’s progress and development. Each district has its unique charm, cultural heritage, and historical significance, making Kerala a true gem of India.


How many districts were there in Kerala before the recent additions?

As of now, Kerala had 14 districts.

When was Kerala formed as a separate state?

Kerala was formed on November 1, 1956, following the reorganization of states on linguistic basis.

Which is the most populous district in Kerala?

As of now, Malappuram is the most populous district in Kerala.

Are there any plans to create new districts in Kerala?

As of now, there have been no official announcements regarding the creation of new districts in Kerala.

How are district boundaries determined?

District boundaries are usually based on geographical, historical, and administrative factors, aiming for efficient governance and representation.

Related Posts:

How Many Districts in Andhra Pradesh?

How Many Districts in Karnataka?

How Many Districts in Tamil Nadu?

How Many Districts in Telangana?

How Many Districts in Maharashtra?

Rate this post
Share to Help

Leave a Comment