How Many Districts in Andhra Pradesh?

Introduction | How Many Districts in Andhra Pradesh?

How Many Districts in Andhra Pradesh? | Andhra Pradesh, the southeastern state of India, is known for its rich cultural heritage, ancient temples, and beautiful coastline. As an inquisitive individual, you might be curious about the administrative divisions that govern this diverse state. In this article, we will explore the number of districts in Andhra Pradesh and understand the importance of these administrative divisions.

Total Number of Districts in Andhra Pradesh

As of now, Andhra Pradesh is divided into 26 districts, each contributing uniquely to the state’s growth and development.

List of Districts in Andhra Pradesh

S.No.District Name
5Alluri Sitharama Raju
8East Godavari
9Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Konaseema
11West Godavari
18Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore
22Sri Sathya Sai

Notable Districts of Andhra Pradesh

Visakhapatnam – The Port City

Visakhapatnam, often referred to as Vizag, is a major port city and an industrial hub of Andhra Pradesh. It is renowned for its beautiful beaches, lush greenery, and emerging IT sector.

Vijayawada – The Commercial Hub

Vijayawada is a bustling city that serves as the commercial and political center of Andhra Pradesh. It is known for the famous Kanaka Durga Temple and the Krishna River.

Kurnool – Land of Historical Marvels

Kurnool boasts a rich historical heritage, with ancient landmarks like the Kondareddy Buruju and the Jagannatha Hill.


The districts of Andhra Pradesh are the pillars of its administrative structure, contributing significantly to the state’s progress and development. Each district showcases its unique charm and cultural heritage, making Andhra Pradesh a vibrant and diverse state.


How many districts were there in Andhra Pradesh before the recent additions?

As of now, Andhra Pradesh had 26 districts.

When was Andhra Pradesh formed as a separate state?

Andhra Pradesh was formed on November 1, 1956, following the reorganization of states on linguistic basis.

Which is the largest district in Andhra Pradesh?

As of now, East Godavari is the largest district in Andhra Pradesh in terms of area.

Are there any plans to create new districts in Andhra Pradesh?

As of now, there have been no official announcements regarding the creation of new districts in Andhra Pradesh.

How are district boundaries determined?

District boundaries are typically based on geographical, historical, and administrative factors, aiming for effective governance and representation.

Related Posts:

How Many Districts in Maharashtra?

How Many Districts in Telangana?

How Many Districts in Karnataka?

How Many Districts in Tamil Nadu?

Rate this post
Share to Help

3 thoughts on “How Many Districts in Andhra Pradesh?”

Leave a Comment